top of page

Tail-Wagging Christmas Poems


Dog’s Winter Wonderland

by Bill Thacker


Dog tags ring, are you listening’? In the lane, snow is glistenin’. It’s yellow, NOT white. I’ve been there tonight, Marking up my winter wonderland.


Smell that tree? That’s my fragrance. It’s a sign for wandering vagrants; Avoid where I pee, it’s MY pro-per-ty! Marked up as my winter wonderland.


In the meadow dad will build a snowman, following the classical design. Then I’ll lift my leg and let it go man, So all the world will know that it’s mine-mine-mine!


Straight from me to the fence post, flows my natural incense boast; Stay off my TURF, this small piece of earth, I marked it as my winter wonderland.



Christmas Dog

by Shel Silverstein


Tonight’s my first night as a watchdog,

And here it is Christmas Eve.

The children are sleepin’ all cozy upstairs,

While I’m guardin’ the stockin’s and tree.


What’s that now – footsteps on the rooftop?

Could it be a cat or a mouse?

Who’s this down the chimney?

A thief with a beard –

And a big sack for robbin’ the house?


I’m barkin’, I’m growlin’, I’m bitin’ his butt.

He howls and jumps back in his sleigh.

I scare his strange horses, they leap in the air.

I’ve frightened the whole bunch away.


Now the house is all peaceful and quiet again,

The stockin’s are safe as can be.

Won’t the kiddies be glad when they wake up tomorrow

And see how I’ve guarded the tree.



Is It Christmas Yet?

By Jim Ness


What do you mean this isn’t my present

Didn’t Santa wrap it for me,

His picture’s all over the paper

As plain as I can see.

I am sure I read my name on it

Although your writing is heard to read,

But it sure smelled very familiar

So is it all right if I proceed?

I’m too young to have any patience

I’ve just got to see what it is,

Why do I have to wait till Christmas

I’ve no time to answer your quiz.

Ok, but I’ve drooled on this ribbon

And the paper got a little wet,

I’ve enjoyed our little conversation

But tell me, is it Christmas yet?


Here's wishing you a most Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday Season!

Kokomo Home Buddies

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page