top of page

Meet the Team


You don’t want to leave your dog with just anyone. You want somebody trustworthy who will do everything they can to keep your furry family happy and healthy. This week we turn the spotlight on the Kokomo Home Buddies team striving to do just that.

Meet Lois Anderson

Role: Co-owner



What do you do at Kokomo Home Buddies?

My main function is to love and provide care for our guests. I’m here to make sure they feel comfortable and content and make sure they have everything they need.


What do you like about working at Kokomo Home Buddies?

I enjoy the variety of guests that we have and seeing their different personalities. They’re just like people. Each one has their own quirks and individual traits.


What do you think makes Kokomo Home Buddies a great dog care option? What makes your services special?

It’s the individualized care we give. It’s a home. We provide a homey atmosphere you just can’t get at a kennel. We work with each dog’s unique needs and give them a place where they feel like this is their house too. I’ve lost count of how many owners who have said their dogs get excited when they turn onto our street because they know where they’re going. When they pull into the driveway you can hear them whining to get out and they just charge into the house, tails wagging, so you know they’re happy to be here.


Has there been anything unexpected about creating or working at Kokomo Home Buddies?

When we first started, I didn’t realize just how needed a service home-based dog care was. We’ve hosted dogs that have had such stressful experiences at group boarding places that owners had to cut vacations short or weren’t able to have much freedom to do what they want to do. Lots of clients have told us what a relief it is knowing their dog is in good hands and happy with us while they’re away.


What do you enjoy when you're not working?

I like crafting and sewing. I do needlepoint and some quilting. A ministry I help organize creates lap robes for people in nursing homes, hospitals, and other care facilities. I also read a lot and participate in church activities.


Favorite type of dog?

I like the smaller breeds. They’re more lap dogs and easier to cuddle. Having a little dog in your lap as you unwind at the end of the day is nice. They tend to have quirkier traits too, which is fun.


Meet Megan Anderson

Role: Co-owner and Manager



What do you do at Kokomo Home Buddies?

I oversee general operations such as scheduling, administration, and marketing. I’m usually the clients’ first point of contact for answering questions and arranging meet-and-greets. I am also the homestay representative for clients needing dog care in their own homes.


What do you like about working at Kokomo Home Buddies?

It’s fun having a revolving door of different shapes, sizes, and personalities. Even though they’re only with us temporarily, I feel like they’re all my babies. They’re great company and keep me laughing. It’s hard to beat the honest loyalty and affection they give. The love of a dog is just so sweet, and this job brings me a lot of love.


What do you think makes Kokomo Home Buddies a great dog care option? What makes your services special?

Everything we do is tailored to each dog. We stick to their normal routines and work with their individual needs, so it’s a great alternative to kenneling for dogs with trauma or health concerns. We have a one-client’s-dogs-at-a-time policy, so no fear of clashing personalities or communicating any illnesses between dogs. We also offer flexible drop-off and pick-up times, so clients have more freedom and less stress. Being a home-based business puts us in a great position to give both dogs and their owners the best possible care.


Has there been anything unexpected about creating or working at Kokomo Home Buddies?

I knew I’d love the dogs, but it’s been great developing community with their owners too. This business has brought some truly wonderful people into our lives, and that’s been a huge blessing.

What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working?

I love researching places I’d like to travel and planning trips. Like most of our doggie guests, I’m very food-motivated, so I enjoy baking and cooking too. Reading is another passion of mine.


Favorite type of dog?

I love them all, but I gravitate toward larger breeds. I just love a big, huggable dog I can get down on the floor and wrestle with. The more to cuddle, the better!

Do you have a question for us or are interested in joining the team? Comment below, follow us on Facebook and Instagram, or Contact us. How can we help you and your dog buddies today?

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page